blusunshinesarah

Crossfit, Paleo, and all things Army

Too easy?

leave a comment »

So I think I’m finally getting better at crossfit. Yesterday’s WoD felt easy. Too easy. Here’s what it was:
Warm up: 2 Rounds of: 10 Back extensions, 15 Air squats
1. Back Squat: 2 reps every minute on the minute for 10 minutes

2. 5 Rounds for time:
5 Muscle ups (scaled to what I call “blast offs” .. basically you start underneath the rings with your arms straight in a squat, and then jump up into a hold.)
5 Power Cleans @ 80% of your 1 rep max (My one rep max is 85#, I used 70#)
5 Strict Handstand Push ups (I used a green and blue band)

So. I don’t have muscle ups, which is ok, I finally am getting better at the “blast offs”. I don’t know if it was a strength thing or a balance thing, but every time I tried to do them I could never hold myself up on the rings.. Which made the exercise practically pointless for me. Yesterday I managed to get a good hold for most of the blast offs, so I felt like I improved.
The power cleans: Felt WAY too easy. I tried with 85#.. And could only get the bar up like twice. So I scaled down to 70#.. Which ended up feeling way too light, since I managed “touch and go” for all the lifts, every round. I maybe should have done 75#.
HSPUs: I need to use two blue bands, instead of a green band. When I first started doing these, I could barely make it through two in a row with these bands.. Last night I cranked them out. I think I finished the whole workout in 10:30, and I was chillin.
What this means to me: I’m finally progressing, but I feel like I’m stuck at this awkward stage where the scales I have been doing are a little too easy, but moving up is a little too hard. (related note: I’ve been stuck on power cleans at 85# 1RM FOREVER- this may have something to do with the fact that I can never keep up with crossfit long enough to make any real progression.. you know- that whole DS thing, or maybe cause my form sucks- maybe both). I’m going to start trying to push past my normal scales, and see where that gets me. Remind me to discuss progress the week before I pick up again (middle of July). And then we’ll see how fast I lose it again. HA.

Today’s WoD wasn’t bad, although I’m pretty sure it was made solely to develop our calluses.
Warm up: Row 200 meters / 10 pull ups
1. Weighted pull up: Find 1 rep max

2. For Time:
30 Glute-ham sit ups
30 One armed kettlebell swings (right arm) @ 1.5 pood / 1 pood (scaled to 25#)
30 Toes-to-bar
30 One armed kettlebell swings (left arm) @ 1.5 pood / 1 pood (scaled to 25#)

So I totally could have done 1 pood. God I’m lame. I tried it- was like, huh, I don’t know if I can do this and only stop a couple of times.. So I did 25, and ended up doing them all unbroken. So it was too light. This was mostly just killer on my hands though. First the pull ups.. then the T2B, AND KB swings. Ow. My hands are hurting as I’m typing this. Whatever tho- I need to work on my grip strength for several reasons.. Not the least of which are pull ups.. which I still can’t do without a band. (Yea I don’t tell the privates that when they’re doing pull ups for PT).

Thats really about it- Goals: PROGRESSION. and to STOP BEING A WUSS. Also this has nothing to do with anything but I’m pretty excited: I FINALLY finished the paleo pulled pork I made Friday. It was delicious then- slightly less delicious after eating it non stop for the last three days. I had it for dinner last night, breakfast this morning, and lunch this afternoon. Thank God the boyfriend finally finished it off. I’ve been feeling really nauseous lately, and it’s either the pulled pork or work stress. Hopefully it was the pulled pork- because that’s all gone but I have about 16 more months left as a Drill Sergeant. Welp- I’m off to cancel out my workout.. the boyfriend wants ice cream. Have a good night!

Written by blusunshinesarah

June 11, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Posted in Running

Leave a Reply

