blusunshinesarah

Crossfit, Paleo, and all things Army

Weekend Recap

leave a comment »

It’s the start of a brand new week already. I can’t believe how fast the weekend came and went! (I’m so excited for my four day weekend over Labor Day, much needed break!) This weekend was full of girl time and fun, and lots of great food and good restaurants with better conversation. Friday evening I met up with my friend Sara at a Thai restaurant in Old Town, right on the Potomac. It was called Mai Thai, and it was pretty great. We started off the evening with some drinks and an appetizer of summer rolls. If you’ve never heard of them, they are rice paper rolls filled with fresh veggies with peanut sauce for dipping on the side. I recommend you try them! After the summer rolls we ordered dinner. I wasn’t very hungry after 2 drinks and the summer rolls, so I just got some Tom Ka Gai soup. (Coconut milk, lime, chicken, lemongrass, and mushrooms). My favorite Thai food is actually yellow curry chicken, but I didn’t see it on the menu, and as I said I wasn’t too hungry, so I savored the soup instead. It turned out to be perfect, as about 15 minutes after we got to our table the sky blackened and it began thundering, lightning, and absolutely pouring rain. I actually love thunderstorms, and honestly would be really happy living in Seattle where it rains all the time. To me there is nothing more cozy then watching the storm from inside with a bowl of hot soup. It was even more spectacular because we were seated right next to a window overlooking the Potomac, so we could see every lightning streak across the sky above the water. Very beautiful. Sara and I had a nice time, chatting over dinner and then coffee while the storm raged outside. It was perfect timing because just as we were leaving the rain stopped, so we could get to our cars without being drenched.

Saturday morning I woke up around 7:30 to go for a run with my friend Nicole, another Tues/Thurs fun runner. Both of us like running on Saturday mornings, however the group run meets at 7 in different places around Alexandria, and we agreed we’d much rather sleep in and get our own run in. We ran a 5 mile route down to the Potomac and then stretched on the harbor. Despite the huge storm on Friday night, Saturday morning couldn’t have been more beautiful. It was sunny but cool (around 75 degrees) during the run, and we had a nice, easy pace of about 9:30 going while we got caught up on eachother’s summers. (Nicole was away at grad school in Vermont this summer).  I’m pretty pumped because it was yet another good run. Every good run brings me another step closer to loving running again, the way I did before this ridiculously hot and humid summer started. Ending on the harbor was perfect. Even though it was only about 9 when we finished our run, there were already a lot of people walking (and running!) around. That’s one of the things I love about this area, people here are very active. It is always great to see other people out running, and to smile and wave hello to them. We stretched by the water, looking across the river at the DC skyline (another thing I love about living here). After stretching we walked back up King Street to this French country cafe, La Madeliene. I’ve been wanting to try it for pretty much forever, since the first time I walked past and all but started drooling due to the wonderful smell wafting down the sidewalk. I had an iced coffee and cinnamon crepes with strawberries drizzled with a brandy sauce. I don’t remember the last time I tasted anything as heavenly. The only thing that rivaled the crepes was the mini chocolate croissant and the lemon madeleine cookie I got on the side. Heaven, my friends. Pure heaven. If you are looking for a way to get yourself out the door on a Saturday morning, my advice is this.

1) Run somewhere beautiful

2) Promise yourself a delicious brunch afterwards

3) Run with a good friend

Saturday night I went to Chinatown in DC with some friends Ashley and Masie, and Masie’s friend Terry. We started out at La Tasca, which is a Tapas and Sangria restaurant. We ordered Sangria (of course) and 2 different tapas sampler plates, one meat and the other seafood. According to the menu, one sampler plate was enough for 2 people. There was so much food we didnt even have room for it on one table! I’d have to say my two favorite things were the bacon wrapped figs (I think they were stuffed with goat cheese) and the spinach leaves with goat cheese, apples, and walnuts.

After 2 pitchers of sangria and more tapas than we could possibly eat, we headed down the street to Fado, an irish pub with a live band. I’m not very much of a clubber, I prefer a chill bar where I can drink some beer and have fun with friends without the pulsating music and flashing lights. My favorite kind of bar would have to be an Irish Pub, especially one with a live band. I love Irish rock, like the Dropkick Murphys, Flogging Molly and the Pogues. Play Whiskey in the Jar or Fields of Athenry for me and I’ll be yours forever. I got lucky enough to see the Dropkick Murphys live in concert here in DC for St Patricks Day! Truely awesome experience!

Me, Ashley and Masie, enjoying some drinks at Fado

But I digress. We drank some beer and Ashley and I danced like the crazy white chicks we are to some of the songs. It was time to go around midnight tho; some random drunk guy kept trying to feel up on me and the bouncer had to take care of him, and there were one to many fights starting for me to want to stay, so Ashley and I made our way back to the Metro. And that’s when it happened, we were almost down the stairs to the metro when we heard a gunshot. Luckily, it seemed to be at the top of the stairs and we hightailed it through the turnstile, but it freaked me out a little. I always thought Chinatown was a relatively safe part of DC. Sometimes I forget that I need to be careful about where I go and what time it is. (I also have a nasty habit of wandering around alone). I need to remember that just because I feel invincible most of the time doesn’t mean I am. It reminded me not to make myself a target. That was about the end of the weekend craziness, except for a drunk driver swerving in front of Ashley on the way back from the Metro. (Thank God the girl has great brakes!)

Sunday was much more chill, just your average chore day: laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning. (Although I did wash my comforter this weekend and since it’s made of down I spent a lot of time defeathering my apartment. It looked like a swan exploded). I spent a happy Sunday afternoon reading Harry Potter. I finished the fourth book and started the fifth yesterday. So addicting!

I think that’s probably it for now, next post will be about more workout plans/how PRT is going. Hope your week goes well!

Written by blusunshinesarah

August 22, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

