blusunshinesarah

Crossfit, Paleo, and all things Army

Wine and a run, round 2

leave a comment »

So when I left my apartment tonight to go for my run I realized that the weather felt cool and breezy. It has not felt “cool and breezy” since April here in Virginia. (It wasn’t until AFTER my run when I checked the weather that I saw that it was 86 degrees out with a heat index of 89 degrees. Really a sad day when 89 degrees feels “cool and breezy”). So I set off on the normal route, planning to do 3 easy miles and see how I felt. Since even my ‘easy’ runs have felt like hard runs since June, I was thrilled when I stepped off and I was cruising at a 9 minute mile. (To get an idea of how frustrated I’ve been, I was averaging 8-8:30 minute miles this spring, and in July I struggled with 10 minute miles..) I was so thrilled that instead of turning around at the 1.5 mile point, I kept trucking up the long, LONG, hill to hit the 2 mile point. Victory! I haven’t seen the top of that hill since mid-July. It felt great. My confidence in my ability to run had seriously been shaken. I had stopped enjoying running, and it had become an effort to lace up my shoes and go for a run. But days like today remind me why I started running in the first place. It reminds me that if I push myself through the sucky runs, the good runs will eventually return. The exhilaration that I feel when I reach the top of a hill, or hold a pace that I’ve never been able to hold before makes every exhausting, stomach-churning, sweat-drenched step worth it. (That and the wine on Tuesday nights..)

Speaking of, tonight there were 3 wines, a Virginian Champagne (well, sparkling wine. I learned tonight that only champagnes made in France can actually be called Champagne), a Sauvignon Blanc and a Shiraz. It’s kind of like I’m learning about wines at the same time I’m becoming a better runner.. Also getting to taste wine after a run gives me something to dig deep and push for.

That’s about it for tonight I think. It has been a long day and I am EXHAUSTED. Luckily for me, this Friday is a training holiday which means only 2 more days til the weekend!

Written by blusunshinesarah

August 9, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Posted in Running, Wine

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

