blusunshinesarah

Crossfit, Paleo, and all things Army

My First Post

with 3 comments

My first post. Wow. I never actually thought that I would be a blogger, but after I started to follow some really good ones (pbfingers.com and healthontherun.com: you should check them out) I decided it might not be a bad idea. Being that living healthy and running are pretty much like a religion to me, I decided I should blog about that and add in bits about my personal life as entertainment for any of you that decide to continue reading.

But first I should probably tell you a little bit about myself. I grew up in Wisconsin and joined the Army when I turned 18. My feelings when I graduated high school were that I didn’t want to go to college at that moment but I had to do something in the meantime. Funnily enough, I joined the Army to avoid more school and then spent the next year and a half of my life after basic training in California, learning Korean. After California I moved to Ft Bliss, Tx. (Doesn’t quitelive up to its name). I was there for almost 2 years, during which time I deployed to Iraq for a year. After I got back I reclassed (that is, changed jobs) and got assigned to my current duty station, Ft Belvoir, here in the DC Metro Area. I live in Alexandria and love it.

Pretending to work hard

As far as my relationship with healthy living and running goes, I should start off by letting you know that I was a fat kid. Yup. I struggled with my weight throughout my childhood until my sophomore year of high when I finally peaked at 180 pounds. (I’m 5’6 and at the time had pretty much no muscle, so I somewhat resembled a tank.) I never really understood what the concept of ‘exercise’ was growing up. My parents went for daily evening walks and my Dad sometimes ran when his job wasn’t too demanding; but for the most part, I didn’t understand what it meant to ‘work out’. Until my junior year of high school. I lived in Southern Mexico as an exchange student that entire year and lived with a family that was very active. My host brother took me running and swimming with him, and over the course of the year I dropped 30 pounds. Still, I didn’t start seriously running until I joined the Army and it was mandatory. Your left (uh huh) your left (uh huh) your leffftt rrriighhtt left (uh huh). But I digress. As much as I enjoyed my early days of running when I first joined the Army (cause who doesn’t want to get up at o-dark-thirty and go for a forced run in the freezing cold with someone yelling at you to “run faster, slowbody!”?) I didn’t start running in races until the last couple of years. I still haven’t quite gotten to the point where I log 40+ miles per week (about 15-20 is generally all my body can tolerate), and I haven’t run any marathons yet (training for a half marathon in September, my first!) As far as it goes right now though, I’m just trying to work on getting fast(er) and getting my mileage up. And learning to run in the heat and humidity! Whew it is hot here! In addition to running, I also do circuit training class 5 mornings a week and do some abs work and strength training on my own on the side.

https://blusunshinesarah.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1&action=edit

Doesn't this look like fun?

So that’s my (semi) brief overview on how I got into running (the Army made me) and living healthy (I was tired of being the fat kid). Welcome to the blog and thanks for reading! Drop me a note and introduce yourself, I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

 

Written by blusunshinesarah

July 29, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Posted in Running

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your story! Man, I wish I could have been in shape to join at 18! That would have been awesome! But for now, I am still working on my body and fitness level. I can’t wait to read more of your blog!!!

    airchick

    June 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    • hey! you can do it, trust me! I read some of your posts, and it sounds like you have the drive and determination to get in shape. Its a long road, but every step is worth it when you are able to see the progress youre making. good luck!

      blusunshinesarah

      June 15, 2013 at 9:35 am

      • Thank you so much for your wonderful comment! It is very encouraging! (:

        airchick

        June 15, 2013 at 12:53 pm


Leave a Reply

